Lately on Netflix

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 8.12.52 PM

We may not be in the midst of a polar snow storm around here, but this week has still felt dreadfully dreary. Luckily, I have found my respite in Netflix. Here are a few of my recently enjoyed Netflix picks, for your viewing pleasure.

frank

#1- Frank

Synopsis: An aspiring musician joins a band of eccentrics led by an enigmatic singer — who wears a fake head — and his unstable girlfriend.

My Take: As someone who appreciates both good films, good acting and good music this movie ticked all my boxes. With a very colorful cast and an entertaining, as well as touching, storyline this movie had me laughing from the get go. Domhnall Gleeson’s performance as a suburban social media enthused keyboardist and Michael Fassbender’s utterly lovable and terribly gifted, yet tragically tortured, Frank are both rather endearing. As a former suburbanite with a slew of colorful characters playing a role in my sordid creative past, I can relate to Gleeson’s character all the while loathing his creative direction and constant need for validation. Yet again, is that not a part of all artistry? The fine line between the acceptance of appreciation and the need for validation. Also, a giant paper maché head has never looked so good. Thank you Mr. Fassbender.

Death_Comes_to_Pemberley_TV-579371134-large

#2- Death Comes To Pemberley

Synopsis: Adapted from P.D. James’s sequel to Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice,” the tale continues as Elizabeth and Darcy celebrate six years of marriage.

My Take: As an Austen loving mega fan, it’s no surprise that this BBC mini series is at the top of my list. Period costumes, check. Great classic novel characters, check. English countryside, check. The plight of love and tragedy, check. Men in tights and top hats, check. You catch my drift.

the imposter

#3- The Imposter

Synopsis: An investigator sets out to unravel a mystery about a 13-year-old boy who vanished in Texas only to show up three years later in Spain.

My Take: Holy guacamole, this documentary had me riled up and unable to sleep after my post midnight viewing. Is it just me, or is there something completely vague and eerie about both Frédéric Bourdin’s detachment and the less than emotional account of Nicholas Barclay’s mother? Gripping. Much like Serial, it makes for great break room conversation.

mental (1)

#4- Mental

Synopsis: After his wife has a nervous breakdown, a philandering politician hires a “nanny” he finds on the side of the road to care for his five daughters.

My Take: I adore Toni Colette, she’s absolutely brilliant,  so needless to say I adored this movie. As someone who fully embraces my ‘not-so-normal’ tendencies, I can relate to these characters and simultaneously detest the straight laced society that pigeon holes them in to a corner. You’ll laugh, and then you’ll laugh some more. Added Bonus: There’s a pretty charming nod to ‘The Sound of Music’, another heartwarming female driven film.

broadchurch

#5- Broadchurch

Synopsis: After a young boy is murdered in the small seaside town of Broadchurch, local detectives Ellie Miller and Alec Hardy are assigned the mysterious case.

My Take: This series just added to my desire to move across the pond while simotanesouly reminded me why I never pursued a career in law enforcement. With a fully stocked cast of characters, this well played story will keep you guessing until the end. Attention Dr. Who Lovers: The Doctor’s in the house but you won’t be spotting any phone booth’s in this crime drama. Cell phones are all the rage.

I just realized every option above either deals with Mental Illness and Murder or, in most cases, both. To liven up the scene post viewing, it would be the perfect time to finally join me in re-watching every episode of Friends. Also, just a reassurance, I am neither mentally ill or murderous.

Leave a comment